The day was good!  Gent is a gentle town, beautiful,  and rich. There are more students around than I’ve ever seen,  arts play a integral part of daily life and people prefer the bicycle to the car.

image

Must say that the place hooked me.

image

image

Sitting in your houseboat reading and basking in the sun doesn’t seem all that bad to me.
image

image

Follow the canals into the city centre

image

image

With its great old cathedrals,  castles and old buildings in perfect condition. A paradise for the historybuff.

image

image

I know I shouldn’t really,  I always do,  but I just have to mention the insane amounts of tourists on the streets, I won’t get into it all to deep, because if I did I would never stop. But there is a huge difference between a Tourist and a Traveller,  or visitor,  or roamer…

It’s like the difference between a Heineken and a Belgian Trappist.

If you get it you get it,  if you don’t,  I’ll try and explain a bit later.

image

image

The night came,  and with it the cold,  I was starting to get a little bit worried about where to sleep, since I hadn’t had time to scout out a good spot in between all the ”flanerade”(a swedish word that means something like – taking a stroll)

image

But one of many perks of being the travelling kind is that you have a lot of friends,  and those friends usually have friends,  and lucky for me those friends of friends were sitting in a cinema not far away from where I was standing, shivering cold, so I took my insanely heavy bag and joined in.

image

Good choice!

